One to Grow On

November 4, 2009

Let’s Talk About Cushioning…

Filed under: Uncategorized — midway2go @ 12:34 am

019Rory and Nora love that Adam Sandler movie Bedtime Stories. Lines from that movie have leaked into our lives, like World’s Fastest Irish Jig, and Sir Fix-A-Lot. Something I’ve been thinking a lot about Uncle Skeeter’s Cushion of Protection. Around here, the Cushion of Protection feels thin. Very thin. Usually, I think about cushioning as a negative quality, uh, largely as it relates to my rear end. But these past couple of weeks have me thinking differently. Brandon left last Thursday, headed to Iraq by way of Kuwait.

 

 Rory and Nora miss him terribly, but they also worry that they are less safe now. One parent just isn’t enough for them. My parents were able to come down to Georgia the day after Brandon left, so then the kids have some Grandparent padding to make up for the lack of paretnal padding, but getting the house cleared out, and cleaned, and the storage units oragnized… all of this ate up our time. Instead of heading up to North Carolina on Sunday we were limping our way along Tuesday (with Nora vomitting spectactularly into a plastic sack in the car)… and Wednesday. No sooner do we get to my parents than the bug that Nora had been handling so cooly wipes me out. I came around Thursday night, ever so grateful to have been at my parents for my infermity and not on my own in Midway nor on a flight over the ocean with two kids who count on me. Now I’m thinking, was I really planning to fly on Wednesday? This past Wednesday? So Friday we get down to business, really going to plow through and get ready. Well, the list of things that went inefficiently or badly or just didn’t go at all- it’s long and tragic. I think, officially tragic. I had a good Lacking in The Cushion of Protection meltdown (at least one), but we kept going. This morning (Saturday) while double-checking the flight we were hoping to take (and I mean “checking” in the loosest sense with space-a flights), I found the flight we had hoped to take on Sunday had been moved forward to Saturday! No more illusion of time or days or planning. We threw our stuff into our bags, skipped almost all of the really good farewell photos (maybe a blessing…)

 

 

013

 and picked up a one-way care rental 4 hours early. Rory and Nora and I drove from Greensboro, NC, to Dover, Delaware, in a shockingly short amount of time, to arrive at the Air Force Base and find that we missed making the flight by about 5 seats.

Now, I’m reading Bill Bryson’s Notes from a Big Country, a collection of columns for British readers about America, and he ends each column with a plithy line or two. Hmph. No plithy endings here. Have I discovered some inner secret to Cushion of Protection? Well,okay, yes, God, in a larger sense (and God in a smaller sense, in the kindness that I see my fellow stranded passengers showing to each other and that Nora went straight off to sleep on airport chairs)… but not to turn into ole Billy, I still desperately miss a sense of Cushioning! Since my puking marathon even the cushioning on my backside is diminished! I want a big, fat, excess for a while, of things like days to make a flight, and seats on a plane, and room in my daypack, and spare power cords for computers, and passwords for itunes accounts! I want more, darn it! Until I look at the pictures of our storage cage. Maybe it’s time for less padding.

 

007008

4 Comments »

  1. Good news from you. Your mom is getting ready to go to Smithfield, still thinking about her vagabonds on their way to Japan. I read the entries to her and she was delighted.

    Comment by Randy King — November 4, 2009 @ 9:21 am

  2. Glad things are going semi-okay for your family. So good to see you @ the birthday gathering. Received the card & we are enjoying reading about your travels. Give our love to all. We Love you….Uncle A & Aunt S

    Comment by ARJ & S — November 4, 2009 @ 11:31 am

  3. Hi Chrislyn, Rory, and Nora! Hope you are rested and ready to explore! Going to live vicariously through ya’ll so have lots of fun, see intersting and unique things, and share.
    Happy Travels, Stay Safe, God Bless,
    Will add Brandon to our prayers for our men and woman serving!
    Love Rachel and Charlotte

    Comment by Rachel L — November 4, 2009 @ 1:09 pm

  4. I love the fact that you’re blogging the journey! It’s been a fun read so far. Even despite all the less than glamorous moments, I’m still terribly jealous! I’ll be following and living vicariously through your blog! We miss ya at SUHN

    Comment by Ashley — November 4, 2009 @ 8:07 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

